Over the Christmas / New Year period I’ve set myself the challenge of reading the following books on Napoleon Bonaparte.

The Rise The Fall

“My master has no feelings and that master is the nature of things.”

Napoleon to Josephine, 3 December 1806

The Song of Departure The Sun of Austerlitz The Emperor of Kings

 

While I have read the fiction trilogy on Napoleon some time ago I though it might be an interesting idea to pair them up with the two part biography which has been sitting on my desk for nearly 12 months now unread.

You may be interested to note the author of the Napoleon historical fiction series is also a well published French academic, much like Christian Jacq the author of the ‘Ramses’ series which I blogged about yesterday.

As you may have established from some of my earlier posts, I tend to read a lot of historical fiction (and non-fiction).

