Books. I suppose an addiction to books is at least a healthy addiction if there is such a thing. It’s amazing how something as small as a book can hold power over you. I have so much trouble letting go when it comes to selling or loaning books, that my home has basically become a personal library.

My decision – at least for the time being – is to reduce my collection to two 5 x 3 foot bookcases, keeping only those titles that I have a strong connection with. Anything beyond the number of volumes that can fit on these shelves have to be sold, loaned or given away. Note to self: to re-active my old Bookcrossing account, it seems as good a place as any to off load a few titles.

Long term…my goal is to keep only a list of 100 titles. This may seem a lot to anyone reading this, but already having reduced my collection down from 5,000 volumes it is likely to be a difficult task to accomplish.

